Welcome to the Curriculum & Leadership Journal website.
To receive our fortnightly Email Alert,
please click on the blue menu item below.
Curriculum & Leadership Journal
An electronic journal for leaders in education
ISSN: 1448-0743
Follow us on twitter


Implementing curriculum in South Australia: the SACSA Framework

Department of Education and Children's Services 
The South Australian Curriculum Standards and Accountability (SACSA) Framework is designed to support continuity of learning from birth to Year 12 and is organised around the eight Learning Areas. Key Ideas within each Learning Area describe the scope of the curriculum while Learning Outcomes describe student achievement. The Key Ideas and Learning Outcomes are written at Standards which represent the expectations we have for learners towards the end of Years 2, 4, 6, 8 and 10. Achievement of a Standard means that a learner has achieved all the Learning Outcomes for a particular Learning Area.

Key Learning Areas

The Arts
Studies of Society and Environment
Health and Physical Education

Subject Headings

South Australia
Values education (character education)
Secondary education
Science teaching
Primary education
Physical education
Mathematics teaching
Languages other than English (LOTE)
Health education
English language teaching
Education policy
Curriculum planning
Compulsory education